Rediff India Abroad
 Rediff India Abroad Home  |  All the sections


The Web

India Abroad

Sign up today!

Article Tools
Email this article
Top emailed links
Print this article
Contact the editors
Discuss this article

Home > News > PTI

Jharkhand: Maoists storm CRPF camp

June 26, 2006 23:46 IST

In a major raid, about 400 Maoist rebels attacked a Central Reserve Police Force camp in Jharkhand, killing a jawan, and blew up rail tracks in two places.

After the attack at Rahvan in Jhumra Pahar area in Bokaro district, CRPF jawans posted there retaliated and the gun battle continued till late Sunday night, Hazaribagh's Superintendent of Police Praveen Kumar said on Monday.

Over 4,000 rounds were fired by the CRPF jawans in the gun battle that lasted over four hours, said Ashwini Kumar Sinha, Sub-divisional Police Officer at Bermo in Bokaro.

Kumar could not confirm if there were any casualties among the Maoists.

However, Sinha said police teams had spotted bloodstains at a few places at the site of the gun battle and anticipated that a few rebels might have been killed.

About 3,000 empty cartridges, 150 live cartridges, 15 crude bombs and as many grenades were recovered from the spot.

Sinha said the rebels, comprising hard-core ultras from Andhra Pradesh and Nepal, blew up rail tracks at Dania and Dumribihar station and planted explosives on all roads to leading to Jhumrapahar while fleeing.

All police stations in Hazaribag district near Bokaro and Jhumrapahar were put on alert following the attack.

© Copyright 2006 PTI. All rights reserved. Republication or redistribution of PTI content, including by framing or similar means, is expressly prohibited without the prior written consent.
Share your comments

 What do you think about the story?

Read what others have to say:

Number of User Comments: 1

Sub: Jharkand: Maoists hit CRPF camp

That such a huge number of Maoists could mount an attack on the security forces without detection serves to expose the incompetence, ineptitude, of the ...

Posted by labrea



Copyright © 2006 India Limited. All Rights Reserved.