Rediff India Abroad
 Rediff India Abroad Home  |  All the sections


The Web

India Abroad

Sign up today!

Article Tools
Email this article
Top emailed links
Print this article
Contact the editors
Discuss this article

Home > News > PTI

Two Sena MLAs join Congress

January 06, 2006 18:27 IST

In a setback to Shiv Sena, two party legislators and supporters of Revenue Minister Narayan Rane, on Friday resigned from the membership of the legislative assembly and joined the Congress.

Kalidas Kolambkar and Shyam Sawant submitted their resignation from the Assembly Friday afternoon to Speaker Babasaheb Kupekar and later proceeded to the Congress office in south Mumbai, where they formally joined the party in the presence of Maharashtra Pradesh Congress Committee chief Prabha Rau and Rane.

After being expelled from Shiv Sena in July 2005 Rane had joined Congress and was made Revenue Minister.

Earlier, three Rane supporters quit their assembly seat which they had won as Sena nominees in 2004 polls, and had joined Congress. Congress has fielded the three, Ganpat Kadam (Rajapur), Subhash Bane (Sangameshwar) and Shankar Kambli (Vengurla) for the January 21 assembly by poll for the three seats.

© Copyright 2005 PTI. All rights reserved. Republication or redistribution of PTI content, including by framing or similar means, is expressly prohibited without the prior written consent.
Share your comments


Copyright 2006 India Limited. All Rights Reserved.