Rediff India Abroad
 Rediff India Abroad Home  |  All the sections


The Web

India Abroad

Sign up today!

Article Tools
Email this article
Top emailed links
Print this article
Contact the editors
Discuss this article

Home > News > PTI

TV sting: MPs file their replies

January 04, 2006 02:15 IST

Lok Sabha members of Parliament named in a television channel expose about corruption in MP Local Area Development scheme have filed their replies to the inquiry committee, set up by Lok Sabha Speaker Somnath Chatterjee.

"All Lok Sabha MPs named in the expose on corruption in the MPLAD schemehave filed their replies Monday to the seven-member inquiry committee headed by senior Congress MP P K Bansal," Parliament sources said in New Delhi Tuesday.

Besides Bansal, who also inquired into the cash-for-query scam, other members of the committee are V K Malhotra (Bharatiya Janata Party), Mohammed Saleem (Communist Party of India-Marxist), Ram Gopal Yadav (Samajwadi Party), C Kuppuswamy (Dravida Munnetra Kazhagam), Prasanna Acharya (Biju Janata Dal) and D P Yadav (Rashtriya Janata Dal).

Taking cognisance of the second scam, the Lok Sabha speaker had announced in the House on December 20 that the inquiry would be conducted into the "serious allegations of improper conduct".

The committee has been asked to give its report by January 31.

© Copyright 2005 PTI. All rights reserved. Republication or redistribution of PTI content, including by framing or similar means, is expressly prohibited without the prior written consent.
Share your comments


Copyright 2006 India Limited. All Rights Reserved.