Rediff India Abroad
 Rediff India Abroad Home  |  All the sections


The Web

India Abroad

Sign up today!

Article Tools
Email this article
Top emailed links
Print this article
Contact the editors
Discuss this article

Home > News > PTI

Karnataka ministry expanded, 20 inducted

February 17, 2006 11:43 IST

The Bharatiya Janata Party-Janata Dal (Secular) coalition ministry headed by H D Kumaraswamy in Karnataka was expanded Friday with the induction of 20 ministers.

Eleven members from BJP and nine from JD(S) were sworn in as ministers at a ceremony held at the portals of Vidhan Soudha, the state secretariat.

Governor T N Chaturvedi administered the oath of office and secrecy to the new ministers, all of cabinet rank.

K S Eshwarappa, Jagadish Shettar, D H Shankara Murthy, C Ramachandra Gowda, V S Acharya, C M Udasi, Govind Karjol, R Ashok, Katta Subramanya Naidu, D Sriramlu and Nagaraja Shetty were sworn in from the BJP.

From the JD(S) side, Basavaraj Horatti, C Chenigappa, D T Jayakumar, Cheluvarayaswamy, Iqbal Answari, Sharanabasappa Darshanapur, Bandeppa Kashampur, Hanumanthappa Yelappa Halkod and Balachandra Jharkiholi tookoath as ministers.

The two-member JD(S)-BJP ministry had assumed office on February 3.

© Copyright 2006 PTI. All rights reserved. Republication or redistribution of PTI content, including by framing or similar means, is expressly prohibited without the prior written consent.
Share your comments


Copyright 2006 India Limited. All Rights Reserved.