Rediff India Abroad
 Rediff India Abroad Home  |  All the sections


The Web

India Abroad

Sign up today!

Article Tools
Email this article
Top emailed links
Print this article
Contact the editors
Discuss this article

Home > News > Report

Maharashtra: Polling begins in 2 assembly constituencies

February 16, 2006 09:30 IST
Last Updated: February 16, 2006 09:31 IST

Polling for the two Maharashtra Legislative Assembly bypolls started in constituencies of Naigaum in Mumbai and Srivardhan in Raigad Thursday morning at 0800 hours.

The two constituencies fell vacant following the resignation of sitting Shiv Sena legislators Kalidas Kolambkar and Shyam Sawant.

Being loyalists of State Revenue Minister Narayan Rane, they were immediately given the Congress candidature in the respective constituencies.

In Naigaum constituency, the Sena has fielded local corporator Shraddha Jadhav, while at Srivardhan, it has given ticket to Tukaram Surve, a local Zilla Parishad member.

In total three candidates are in the fray for Srivardhan constituency, which has a total voters' strength of 1,74,436, while five candidates are in the fray from Naigaum, which has 1,54,509 voters.

According to sources in Election Commission, there are 136 polling booths in Naigaum, while in Srivardhan the number is 234.

The electronic voting machineshave been kept ready and adequate security has also been maintained in both the constituencies to avoid any untoward incident.


Share your comments


Copyright 2006 India Limited. All Rights Reserved.