Rediff India Abroad
 Rediff India Abroad Home  |  All the sections


The Web

India Abroad

Sign up today!

Article Tools
Email this article
Top emailed links
Print this article
Contact the editors
Discuss this article

Home > News > Report

SC issues notice to unauthorised occupants of govt bungalows

August 30, 2006 16:27 IST
Last Updated: August 30, 2006 16:30 IST

The Supreme Court on Wednesday issued notices to about 1000 unauthorised occupants of government bungalows and quarters in Uttar Pradesh and Bihar including former and present ministers, MPs, MLAs, bureaucrats, judicial officers, police officers and other government departments directing them to show cause why they should not be evicted immediately.

A bench comprising Justices B N Aggarwal, P P Naolekar and Lokeshwar Singh Panta also directed the two states to file affidavit within four weeks giving details of the rules under which many of unauthorised occupants have been reallotted or regularised in the same bungalows and also to provide details of those who have been alloted the vacated government quarters and their entitlement to these quarters.

The court also issued notices to six judicial officers of UP including five additional district judges and one civil judge,to be served through Registrar General of Allahabad High Court.

Regarding judicial officers, the Court said, "It is the misfortune of the country that for the eviction of judicial officers the state government has to initiate proceedings under the Public Premises Act.

"These officers are contesting like veteran litigants instead of vacating their apartments gracefully. The Allahabad High Court Registrar General shall ensure service of notices to the judicial officers and the High Court shall also consider as to whether disciplinary proceedings can be initiated against these judicial officers after suspending them immediately."

The judicial officers are P K Agnihotri, Additional District Judge who is occupying the government quarter illegally for the last 15 years, Satish Kumar Pandey, ADJ Rampur; Meena Yadav, ADJ Sitapur; P Kumar, District Judge, Badayun; Jagdish Prasad, Additional Civil Judge Maharajgunj.

Other unauthorised occupants of government quarters include 544 from police department,135 legislators, and over 300 government officers.

The Court had earlier issued notices to all states and union territories to give details of all those who are occupying government quarters illegally.

The list of unauthorised occupants also includes 71 persons including social workers, journalists and NGOs.

All these illegal occupants are in Patna and Lucknow.The court shall take up on Thursday the states of Orissa and Madhya Pradesh.


Share your comments


Copyright © 2006 India Limited. All Rights Reserved.