Rediff India Abroad
 Rediff India Abroad Home  |  All the sections


The Web

India Abroad

Sign up today!

Article Tools
Email this article
Top emailed links
Print this article
Contact the editors
Discuss this article

Home > News > PTI

Two Pakistani terrorists held at WB border

August 15, 2006 04:10 IST

Related Articles
Column: Why this I-Day is doubly special
I-Day Specials:
For those who have no one, there's Vidyakar
'India can be changed by the new generation'
10 things I love about India
How will India become a superpower by 2010?

The Border Security Force on Monday arrested two Pakistani terrorists while they were crossing over to the Indian side from Bangladesh at Hingalganj in West Bengal's North 24 Parganas district.

The arrested, both residents of Karachi, were identified as Mohammand Zuber, a Lashkar-e-Tayiba member and Mohammad Sohail, associated with Jaish-e-Mohammad, BSF Deputy Inspector-General of Police B S Rana told PTI.

Preliminary interrogations revealed that the two had arrived in Bangladesh in the first week of July.

The duo was prima facie found to be dealing in arms and was on its way to Kashmir via Delhi, Rana said adding their other motives of coming to India were being ascertained.

Rana said the arrest was made at Charalkhali under Hingalganj police station when the Pakistanis were crossing the Ichhamati River. They would be handed over to police on Tuesday.

Patrolling along the Bangladesh border was stepped up.

BSF sources said the two had been engaged in smuggling RDX and other explosive materials for Kashmiri militants from Bangladesh via Indo-Bangladesh border.

The BSF South Bengal Frontier has informed the Union home ministry.

The sources said the border guards had been conducting intensive raids at all vulnerable points in the highly porous border in the district.

© Copyright 2006 PTI. All rights reserved. Republication or redistribution of PTI content, including by framing or similar means, is expressly prohibited without the prior written consent.
Share your comments


Copyright © 2006 India Limited. All Rights Reserved.