Rediff India Abroad
 Rediff India Abroad Home  |  All the sections


The Web

India Abroad

Sign up today!

Article Tools
Email this article
Top emailed links
Print this article
Contact the editors
Discuss this article

Home > News > Report

Pawar, Chatterjee in office of profit list

April 26, 2006 17:27 IST

Lok Sabha Speaker Somnath Chatterjee and Union Ministers Pranab Mukherjee, Sharad Pawar, Meira Kumar and Subbirami Reddy were some of the names on a list put up by the Election Commission on its website on Wednesday, as part of 43 Members of Parliament, whose disqualification has been sought for allegedly holding an office of profit. The list also includes names of 200 MLAs.

References against those named from President A P J Abdul Kalam and Governors of various states are with the EC and are under 'various stages of consideration', it said.

The names of Congress president Sonia Gandhi and industrialist Anil Ambani are also on the list but they have already resigned from the Lok Sabha and the Rajya Sabha, respectively. The complaint against Gandhi has been called 'infructuous' by the EC, after her resignation.

Other prominent MPs against whom complaints have been made include Karan Singh, Najma Heptullah, Ajit Singh, V K Malhotra, Amar Singh, Sajan Kumar, Anuradha Chowdhury, N Jothi and Naveen Jindal. Chief ministersand ministers against whom references have been made include those of Punjab, Madhya Pradesh, Orissa, Nagaland, Arunachal Pradesh and Chhattisgarh.

Share your comments

 What do you think about the story?

Read what others have to say:

Number of User Comments: 1

Sub: Office of profit

It most unfortunate that the term Office of profit has been affecting the growth and esteem of our great patriotic stalwards.How can they and their ...

Posted by sbhujanga



Copyright 2006 India Limited. All Rights Reserved.