Rediff India Abroad
 Rediff India Abroad Home  |  All the sections


The Web

India Abroad

Sign up today!

Article Tools
Email this article
Top emailed links
Print this article
Contact the editors
Discuss this article
Home > News > Report

Paswan to field candidates against Congress

Anand Mohan Sahay in Patna | September 28, 2005 11:16 IST
Last Updated: September 28, 2005 15:00 IST

Retracting from his earlier stance, Lok Janshakti Party chief Ramvilas Paswan has said thathis partywould field candidates against the Congress in the forthcoming Bihar assembly polls.

"We would not spare anybody, including the Congress in the polls," Paswan said in Patna on Wednesday.

However, Paswan said he and his party would not indulge in campaign against Congress and the Communist Party of India (Marxist) despite the fact that LJP would contest against them.

Congress is part of Rashtriya Janata Dal-led United Progressive Alliance in Bihar and is contesting 51 seats.

He said LJP and its allies -- the CPI, Revolutionary Socialist Party and the Forward Block -- would contest all the 243 assembly seats as a third front. LJP will contest 190 seats.

JD(U) releases first list of candidates in Bihar

Paswan is likely to announce the seat-sharing formula in Patna on Wednesday.

Meanwhile, three senior Janata Dal (United) leaders -- former members of legislative assembly Maheshwar Prasad Singh, Krishna Chandra Singh, Gaurishankar Nagdansh -- and an ex-RJD minister Kafil Ahmed Kaifi joined LJP on Wednesday.

Welcoming them into LJP, Paswan said he would consider their request for party tickets.

Meanwhile, the process for the second phase of the four-phased assembly elections in Bihar was set in motion on Wednesday with Governor Buta Singh issuing notification for holding polls in 69 constituencies on October 26.

The constituencies going to the polls in the second phase are Bhagalpur, Munger, Lakhisarai, Sheikhpura, Begusarai,
Khagaria, Araria, Katihar, Purnea, Vaishali, Muzaffarpur and Samastipur districts.

With the issue of the notification, the process of filing of nominations for the second phase has begun and will conclude on October 5.

Scrutiny will take place on October 6, while October 8 is the last date for withdrawal of nominations.

The polling for the four-phase poll will be spread over a month because of major religious festivals and also to ensure
adequate security in the wake of concerns over the law and order situation in the state.

The first phase of polling will be held on October 18 and second phase on October 26, while the remaining two phases of poll are scheduled to be held on November 13 and 19. Counting will take place on November 22.

© Copyright 2005 PTI. All rights reserved. Republication or redistribution of PTI content, including by framing or similar means, is expressly prohibited without the prior written consent.

Share your comments


Copyright 2005 India Limited. All Rights Reserved.