Rediff India Abroad
 Rediff India Abroad Home  |  All the sections


The Web

India Abroad

Sign up today!

Article Tools
Email this article
Top emailed links
Print this article
Contact the editors
Discuss this article
Home > News > PTI

JD(U) releases list of candidates in Bihar

September 27, 2005 21:10 IST

After a midnight seat settlement with the Bharatiya Janata Party, the Janata Dal (United)released its first list of 70 candidates on Tuesdayfor Bihar assembly polls. Tickets have been givento 13 Lok Janshakti Party candidates and three independents, who had supported Nitish Kumar to come to power.

"We have reached an agreement that JD(U) will contest 141 seats this time, three more than in February, leaving the rest 102 for BJP," JD(U) Parliamentary Board chairman Sharad Yadav told a press conference.

Releasing the list, he said, "The two parties have amicably resolved the issues related to seat-sharing to accommodate all LJP and independent MLAs who had joined the party."

The first list has 13 women candidates and the five sitting independents had been renominated for Nawada, Gobindpur, Muzaffarpur, Matihani and Sonebarsa. BJP has already declared names of 80 candidates, which include 39 MLAs of the dissolved House.

Claiming there would be no hung Assembly this time and the National Democratic Alliance would be given a clear majority in the state, Yadav charged the United Progressive Alliance government at the Centre with setting 'dangerous' precedents by keeping achargesheeted minister in the cabinet.

"Just for the sake of clinging to power, the prime minister has thrown all moral values to the wind," Yadav said, referring to the fresh chargesheet against Railway Minister Lalu Prasad in the multi-crore fodder scam. "This is dangerous for the country," he added.

More news: Bihar

© Copyright 2005 PTI. All rights reserved. Republication or redistribution of PTI content, including by framing or similar means, is expressly prohibited without the prior written consent.
Share your comments


Copyright 2005 India Limited. All Rights Reserved.