Rediff India Abroad
 Rediff India Abroad Home  |  All the sections


The Web

India Abroad

Sign up today!

Article Tools
Email this article
Top emailed links
Print this article
Contact the editors
Discuss this article
Home > News > PTI

Bihar government shifts 8 SPs, 2 DIGs on EC directive

September 21, 2005 21:44 IST

The Bihar government on Wednesday transferred superintendents of police of eight districts and two deputy inspector general on the directive of the Election Commission.

Bihar Chief Secretary G S Kang told reporters that the SPs of Siwan, Saran, Samastipur, Vaishali, Katihar, Nalanda, Sheohar and Sitamarhi, besides DIGs of Rohtas and Saharsa have been shifted.

The transfers were effected in adherence to the directive of the EC to remove 'tainted' officers and those officers who had completed three or more years in one place, he said.

Kang said that the state administration had also sought the EC's approval to transfer 184 officers of the Bihar Administrative Service.

Meanwhile, the EC Wednesday reviewed preparations for holding polls in 130 constituencies in the first and second phase on October 18 and 26.

© Copyright 2005 PTI. All rights reserved. Republication or redistribution of PTI content, including by framing or similar means, is expressly prohibited without the prior written consent.
Share your comments


Copyright 2005 India Limited. All Rights Reserved.