Rediff India Abroad
 Rediff India Abroad Home  |  All the sections


The Web

India Abroad

Sign up today!

Article Tools
Email this article
Top emailed links
Print this article
Contact the editors
Discuss this article
Home > News > PTI

Aerial patrolling for second phase of Bihar polls

October 25, 2005 11:48 IST
Last Updated: October 25, 2005 12:38 IST

Indian Air Force helicopters will patrol the skies as over 60,000 men and officers of Central Para-Military Forces and state police will stand guard for the second phase of assembly polls in 62 constituencies on Wednesday.

Additional Director General of police, Abhayanand, told PTI on Tuesday that four Indian Air Force choppers will maintain aerial surveilance as 600 companies of CPMF, Bihar Military Police, district armed police and Homeguards would do duty in 62 constituencies.

These are spread over Bhagalpur, Khagaria, Munger, Lakhisarai, Sheikhpura, Begusarai, Katihar, Purnia, Vaishali, Muzaffarpur and Samastipur districts. He said all the polling stations would get security cover.

According to State Election Office sources, around 1.3 crore voters were eligible to exercise their franchise at 13,999 polling stations to choose their representatives from among 492 contestants.

State's Chief Electoral Officer N K Sinha said polling will not not be taken up in booths where security was not provided.

Director General of Police Ashish Ranjan Sinha said security personnel were armed with powers to shoot booth grabbers if the need arose.

"After peaceful polls in the first phase, we are reasonably sure this phase will also be the same," he said.

Stakes for the Rashtriya Janata Dal are quite high in the second phase, too, as the party had won a large number of seats in the Februaryelections.

Prominent among those whose fate would be decided in the second phase include former chief minister Rabri Devi andformer state assembly speaker and state Congress president Sadanand Singh.

Earlier polling was also scheduled to be held on October 26 in Suryagarha, Kharagpur, Sarairanjan, Dalsinghsarai, Samastipur, Kadwa and Barsoi constituencies, which was deferred to October 29 by the Election Commission for security reasons.

More news: Bihar

© Copyright 2005 PTI. All rights reserved. Republication or redistribution of PTI content, including by framing or similar means, is expressly prohibited without the prior written consent.
Share your comments


Copyright 2005 India Limited. All Rights Reserved.