Rediff India Abroad
 Rediff India Abroad Home  |  All the sections


The Web

India Abroad

Sign up today!

Article Tools
Email this article
Top emailed links
Print this article
Contact the editors
Discuss this article
Home > News > PTI

Bihar polls: 584 in fray for first phase

October 14, 2005 01:13 IST

Altogether 541 candidates are left in the fray for the first phase of Bihar polls in 54 assembly constituencies on October 18, state election office sources said on Thursday.

A maximum of 19 candidates are trying their luck from Nwaada constituency while there are just four aspirants each at Dhoraiya, Sikandra and Sahar.

While Rashtriya Janata Dal has fielded its nominees for 51 seats, its allies Congress (09) and CPI-M (one). National Democratic Alliance allies Bharatiya Janata Party and Janata Dal (United) are contesting 27 and 34 seats respectively, sources said.

Prominent among those whose fate would be decided in the first phase include ministers in the erstwhile Rabri Devi government Shyam Rajak (Phulwarisharif), Jagdanand Singh (Ramgarh), Mahabali Singh (Chainpur), Illiyas Hussain (Dehri), Raghvendra Pratap Singh (Barahra), and Shakeel Ahmed Khan (Gurua).

Former leader of Lok Janshakti Party legislature party Ramashray Prasad Singh is contesting on Janata Dal (United) ticket from Makhdumpur against former Bihar Pradesh Congress Committee President Ramjatan Sinha who quit Congress to join LJP following denial of ticket.

© Copyright 2005 PTI. All rights reserved. Republication or redistribution of PTI content, including by framing or similar means, is expressly prohibited without the prior written consent.
Share your comments


Copyright 2005 India Limited. All Rights Reserved.