Rediff India Abroad
 Rediff India Abroad Home  |  All the sections


The Web

India Abroad

Sign up today!

Article Tools
Email this article
Top emailed links
Print this article
Contact the editors
Discuss this article
Home > News > PTI

UP Chief Secretary removed, made Revenue Board Chairman

October 06, 2005 12:23 IST
Last Updated: October 06, 2005 19:01 IST

Acting swiftly on the Supreme Court directive, Uttar Pradesh government on Thursday removed controversial Chief Secretary Neera Yadav and shifted her to the less significant post of chairman, Revenue Board.

Principal Secretary, Urban Development and Employment, R Ramani has been given additional charge of Chief Secretary, an official release said.

Senior IAS officer Ravi Mathur, who has been replaced by Yadav, has not been given any assignment, the release added.

He is believed to be in the race for the post of chief secretary.

The Supreme Court had earlier in the day directed the Uttar Pradesh government to shift Yadav from the post of chief secretary within seven days.

In an interim order, a bench comprising justices Ruma Pal, Arijit Pasayat and C K Thakkar directed the state government to transfer Yadav to some other post with the same rank.

More news from Uttar Pradesh

A public interest litigation had been filed seeking a stay on her appointment as the chief secretary of the state.

The PIL, filed by the Centre for Public Interest Litigation, had alleged that despite several cases registered against Yadav, including the corruption case registered by the CBI, she was appointed as chief secretary.

The Supreme Court-appointed Justice K T Thomas Committee was also inquiring into the alleged land scam during her tenure as the chairman of NOIDA.

More news from Uttar Pradesh

The order came following a meeting Yadav had with Chief Minister Mulayam Singh Yadav after theapex court'sdirective.

© Copyright 2005 PTI. All rights reserved. Republication or redistribution of PTI content, including by framing or similar means, is expressly prohibited without the prior written consent.
Share your comments


Copyright 2005 India Limited. All Rights Reserved.