Rediff India Abroad
 Rediff India Abroad Home  |  All the sections


The Web

India Abroad

Sign up today!

Article Tools
Email this article
Top emailed links
Print this article
Contact the editors
Discuss this article
Home > News > Report

Bihar: FIR against three union ministers

Anand Mohan Sahay in Patna | November 18, 2005 01:23 IST

FIR against three union ministers and court complaint againstinclude Lalu, Paswan and Rabri for violation of model code.

On the directives of the Election Commission, the Bihar administration filed first information reports against threeUnion ministers for violation of model code of conduct in Bihar's Siwan district going to the polls in fourth and final phase on November 19.

Besidestwo separate court complaints were lodged against Rashtriya Janata Dal supremo and Railway Minister Lalu Prasad, Lok Janshakti Party chief and Steel Minister Ramvilas Paswan and former chief minister Rabri Devi for violation of model the code.

The FIR was lodged against Minister of State for Home Sri Prakash Jaiswal and Union ministers Meera Kumar and Akhilesh Prasad Singh for violation of model code of conduct.

The case was registered at Guthni police station against for holding an election rally without obtaining permission from the district authorities, official sources said.

Three others named in the FIR were Congress secretary Iqbal Singh, Haryana minister Randip Singh Surjewala and party candidate for Mairwa assembly seat Sanjit Kumar.

The FIR was registered on the report of executive magistrate Arun Kumar for holding election meeting at Guthni High School without prior permission of the local administration.

In the court of chief judicial magistrate in Hajipur in Vaishali district a complaint case was lodged against Paswan for using Muslim chief minister issue in violation of constitution.

On the other hand the chief judicial magistrate in Patna a complaint was filed against Lalu and Rabri for making false claims about reservation inadvertisement in local newspapers.

Earlier in neighbouring Gopalganj, district administration has externed three members include former chief minister Rabri Devi's two brother Sadhu and Subhas Yadav and a JD (U) member Prabhunath Singh till the polls over on November 19.

Other externed include JD(U) leader and former member Kali Pandey and nominee of Bharatiya Janata Party and Bahujan Samaj Party from Gopalganj assembly constituency.

Bihar Polls 2005

Share your comments


Copyright 2005 India Limited. All Rights Reserved.