Rediff India Abroad
 Rediff India Abroad Home  |  All the sections


The Web

India Abroad

Sign up today!

Article Tools
Email this article
Top emailed links
Print this article
Contact the editors
Discuss this article
Home > News > PTI

Polling begins in 15 Bihar constituencies

November 16, 2005 09:43 IST

Polling began under heavy security on Wednesday morning in 15 of Bihar's 243 assembly constituencies. Thepolling in thesefour Naxalite-hit districtswas scheduled for November 13 but deferred due to security reasons.

Indian Air Force helicopters were maintaining aerial surveillance and borders with Nepal have been sealed. Nearly 32,000 security personnel, including about 15,900Central forces, have been deployed at 3,415 boothsfor patrolling inNorth Bihar's East Champaran, West Champaran, Sitamarhi and Madhubani districts, state Home Secretary H C Sirohi told PTI.

Over 31.74 lakh voters will decide the fate of 119 candidates, including two ministers in the erstwhile Rabri Devi government - Rama Devi of Rashtriya Janata Dal (Motihari) and Vishwamo Ban Sharma of Congress (Chanpatia).

"Since polling is being held in these constituenciesagainst the backdrop of Sunday night's Naxalite onslaught in Jehanabad, we are leaving nothing to chance," Sirohi said, adding that Central Para-Military Forces were patrolling by air and on water.

While NDA allies, Janata Dal (United) and Bharatiya Janata Party, have fielded candidates in eight and seven seats respectively, Secular Democratic Front partners RJD, Congress and Communist Party of India - Marxist have put up nominees in 10, five and two seats respectively.

CPI-M nominees are engaged in friendly contests with RJD at Sugauli and Congress at BISFI. Lok Janshakti Party and Communist Party of India are contesting 13 and two seats respectively.

Complete coverage: The Bihar polls

© Copyright 2005 PTI. All rights reserved. Republication or redistribution of PTI content, including by framing or similar means, is expressly prohibited without the prior written consent.
Share your comments


Copyright 2005 India Limited. All Rights Reserved.