Rediff India Abroad
 Rediff India Abroad Home  |  All the sections


The Web

India Abroad

Sign up today!

Article Tools
Email this article
Top emailed links
Print this article
Contact the editors
Discuss this article
Home > News > Report

Ghulam Nabi Azad sworn in as J&K CM

Onkar Singh and Mukhtar Ahmad in Srinagar | November 02, 2005 17:46 IST
Last Updated: November 02, 2005 19:43 IST

Ghulam Nabi Azad was sworn inas the chief minister of Jammu and Kashmir on Wednesday evening in a ceremonyat the Sher-e-Kashmir International Convention Centre in Srinagar.

He took the oath of office in English.

The ceremony was attended by Home Minister Shivraj Patil, Congress general secretary incharge of J&K affairs Ambika Soni, National Conference President Omar Abdullah and Farooq Abdallah, besides Union Minister of State for Home Sriprakash Jaiswal.

Legislature Party leader Muzaffar Hussain Baig was sworn in as the Deputy Chief Minister, replacing Mangat Ram Sharma of the Congress.

The 12-member cabinetcomprisesMangat Ram Sharma, Peerzada Mohammad Sayeed and Taj Mohiuddin (all from Congress), associate Congress member Jitender Singh alias Babu Singh, People's Democratic Party leader Abdul Aziz Zargar, Tariq Hamid Qarra and Qazi Mohammad Afzal, Peoples Democratic Forum Chairman Hakeem Mohammad Yaseen, and Independents from Ladakh -- Nawang Rigzin Zora Haji Nissar Ali and Gurcharan Singh Charak.

Bhim Singh-led Jammu and Kashmir Panthers Party, which has four MLAs, chose to keep out of the Azad-led government after having been a constituent of the previous ministry headed by Mufti Mohammad Sayeed for three years.

The party said it would support the new dispensation from outside.

Share your comments

 What do you think about the story?

Read what others have to say:

Number of User Comments: 1

Sub: Azad takes oath as J&K CM

Gulam nabi Azad is a senior congress man who has served Indira gandhi, Rajiv gandhi ,Narasimha Rao and then Soniaji.He has miserably failed in the ...

Posted by vedummaVengatampally



Copyright 2005 India Limited. All Rights Reserved.