Rediff India Abroad
 Rediff India Abroad Home  |  All the sections


The Web

India Abroad

Sign up today!

Article Tools
Email this article
Top emailed links
Print this article
Contact the editors
Discuss this article

Home > News > Report

Congress presidential election on June 9

Onkar Singh in New Delhi | May 16, 2005 16:06 IST
Last Updated: May 16, 2005 19:11 IST

The Congress on Monday announced that the election for the post ofparty president will be held on June 9.

Nominations will begin on May 25, and the last datefor filingnominations will be May 27.

"Nominations will be scrutinised onMay 27, and the last date for withdrawal will be June 3. The voting, if necessary, will be held on June 9," party general secretaryAmbika Soni said in New Delhi.

In the last elections in 2000, Sonia Gandhi was elected presidentwhen she defeated Jitendra Prasad, former vice president of the party.

The Congress is initiating this exercise in order to complete formalities to the Election Commission's satisfaction.

The EC has made it mandatory for all political parties to hold organisational elections.

Meanwhile,Sonia said the Left parties' reported decision to stay away from the alliance's birthday bash would not spoil the occasion.

Gandhi was talking to reporters after a four-and-half hour meeting of the Congress Working Committee. The meeting was held to review the performance of the United Progressive Alliance government's one year in office.

Sonia said that there would be a UPA-Left Coordination Committee meeting on May 18 and added that the UPA is 'looking forward to exchanging views on everything'.

Gandhi congratulated Prime Minister Dr Manmohan Singh and his colleagues in government for 'satisfactory' performance.

"We discussed all the issues. The PM also gave us details about issues taken up during the period," she added.

Gandhi said at least 23-25 party leaders (CWC members, besides herself and the PM) spoke on the occasion and everybody expressed satisfaction over the performance of the UPA government.


Share your comments


Copyright 2006 India Limited. All Rights Reserved.