The Web


 Latest News on mobile: sms NEWS to 7333

Home > News > PTI

Bhagalpur riot case: 10 get lifer

May 12, 2005 11:58 IST

A Bhagalpur local court on Thursday sentenced 10 accused in the infamous 1989 Bhagalpur communal riots case to life imprisonment.

Additional District and Sessions Judge Navneet Kumar Sinha, who had convicted the 10 men on May 9, announced the sentence.

Thirteen other accused in the case were acquitted.

The convicted are charged with being involved in the killing of five people at Kamarganj village under Sultanganj police station on October 14, 1989.

A case was registered against the accused following a complaint by Badrul Islam.

The 10 men awarded life imprisonment are Dhruv Bhagat, Jaijai Yadav, Tarkeshwar Yadav, Ramvilas Yadav, Harikishore Yadav, Nero Yadav, Siyaram Yadav, Rajkishore Yadav, Arun Mandal and Saryu Mandal.

7333: The Latest News on Your Mobile!

© Copyright 2005 PTI. All rights reserved. Republication or redistribution of PTI content, including by framing or similar means, is expressly prohibited without the prior written consent.

Share your comments

Article Tools
Email this article
Top emailed links
Print this article
Write us a letter
Discuss this article

Copyright © 2005 India Limited. All Rights Reserved.