The Web


 Latest News on mobile: sms NEWS to 7333

Home > News > PTI

Rabri's brothers promise to give up bungalows on May 13

May 12, 2005 19:13 IST

Under pressure from the high court, the Patna district administration on Thursday swung into action to get vacated the government quarters 'illegally occupied' by former chief minister Rabri Devi's brothers, members of Parliament Sadhu Yadav and Subhas Yadav.

Besides Rabri's brothers, two Union ministers', Jaiprakash Naraian Yadav and Akhilesh Prasad Singh, palatial bungalows were also to be got vacated. 

However, officials were only able to wangle a promise that the quarters would be given up on Friday.

It was only after initial tough posturing, that the two brothers of Rabri Devi promised to vacate the premises.

Nearly half a dozen officials of the Building Construction Department led by a magistrate, N K Pandey, with scores of policemen in tow, descended around noon on the Circular Road residence of Rabri's brother Aniruddh Prasad alias Sadhu Yadav, only to be told that no family member was present at the house and that the MP was away in Delhi to attend Parliament session.

"Saheb nahin hain... jab ayenge to wohi baat karenge," (The saheb is not here... he will speak to you when he comes back), a caretaker brusquely told the officials in the presence of a battery of mediapersons. 

It took the district administration team over two-and-a-half hours to persuade the caretaker and a few of Sadhu's men present at the house to let them in.

After spending about 30 minutes in the sprawling premises, the magistrate came out to tell the waiting reporters that he had spoken to the MP who had agreed to vacate the bungalow.

7333: The Latest News on Your Mobile!

© Copyright 2005 PTI. All rights reserved. Republication or redistribution of PTI content, including by framing or similar means, is expressly prohibited without the prior written consent.

Share your comments

Article Tools
Email this article
Top emailed links
Print this article
Write us a letter
Discuss this article

Copyright © 2005 India Limited. All Rights Reserved.