The Web


 Latest News on mobile: sms NEWS to 7333

Home > News > PTI

Five MLAs to be inducted in Munda cabinet

March 28, 2005 08:56 IST

Five legislators -- three from the Bharatiya Janata Party, two from Janata Dal-United -- and the Nationalist Congress Party's Kamlesh Singh, who had incurred his party's wrath for defying its directive to support the opposition United Progressive Alliance, are expected to take oath during the ministry expansion in Jharkhand on March 29.

Emerging out of a National Democratic Alliance meeting at his residence, Chief Minister Arjun Munda confirmed the induction of the five legislators.

Real all about Assembly Elections 2005

The Munda cabinet now has six ministers.

Asked who would be the new entrants into the ministry, Munda said "you would know on the D-day."

Besides the BJP and JD (U) legislators, Kamlesh Singh, who is yet to take oath as MLA, was expected to take oath as minister.

"Yes, I am," Singh cryptically replied to a related question after attending the meeting.

On March 16, a faction of the NCP's Jharkhand unit led by its president and former MLA Dhruv Bhagat merged with the BJP in the presence of BJP president Raghuvar Das.

However, another section led by NCP spokesman Lal Babu Singh Patel, following its national leadership's instructions, contested the claim.

Das had then said that Kamlesh Singh was among those who had joined the BJP.

With Singh attending the NDA meeting, the decks are now clear for him to join the Munda cabinet and publicly announce his decision to join the BJP, said a senior BJP leader.

7333: The Latest News on Your Mobile!

More reports from Jharkhand
© Copyright 2005 PTI. All rights reserved. Republication or redistribution of PTI content, including by framing or similar means, is expressly prohibited without the prior written consent.

Share your comments

Article Tools
Email this article
Top emailed links
Print this article
Write us a letter
Discuss this article

Copyright © 2005 India Limited. All Rights Reserved.