The Web


 Latest News on mobile: sms NEWS to 7333

Home > News > PTI

Jharkhand: Arjun Munda sworn in

March 12, 2005 16:34 IST
Last Updated: March 12, 2005 17:09 IST

Bharatiya Janata Party leader Arjun Munda was on Saturday sworn in as Jharkhand chief minister.

Munda, who was invited late last night by Governor Syed Sibtey Razi to form the government, after the Jharkhand Mukti Morcha-led United Progressive Alliance failed to prove its majority on the floor of the House, was administered the oath of office and secrecy by Razi at a public ceremony.

Along with Munda, five Independent MLAs, whose support is crucial for his government's survival, were also sworn in as ministers.

The five Independents sworn in were -- Sudesh Mahto, Chandraprakash Chaudhary, Enos Ekka, Madhu Kora and Harinarain Rai.

BJP president Lal Kishenchand Advani, National Democratic Alliance convenor George Fernandes and Chhattisgarh Chief Minister Raman Singh were among those who attended the ceremony.

Earlier reports:
Shibu Soren resigns on Centre's bidding
BJP compliments Manmohan Singh


7333: The Latest News on Your Mobile!

More reports from Jharkhand
© Copyright 2005 PTI. All rights reserved. Republication or redistribution of PTI content, including by framing or similar means, is expressly prohibited without the prior written consent.

Share your comments

 What do you think about the story?

Read what others have to say:

Number of User Comments: 2

Sub: Well deserved

It certainly is a positive scenario to see an oposition so strong that it did not bear injustice with sealed lips and defeated spirits. The ...

Posted by Puneet

Sub: Jharkhand: Munda

All 5 jokers in this game of cards sworn in. What could this be called, 'adding insult to injury'. How Munda is any better than ...

Posted by dv sikka


Article Tools
Email this article
Top emailed links
Print this article
Write us a letter
Discuss this article

Copyright © 2005 India Limited. All Rights Reserved.