The Web


 Latest News on mobile: sms NEWS to 7333

Home > News > PTI

Kerala: 9 Congress MLAs quit, join

July 05, 2005 09:39 IST

Nine Congress legislators, owing allegiance to K Karunakaran, on Tuesday resigned from the Kerala assembly and joined the veteran leader's National Congress (Indira) party.

The MLAs handed over the resignation letters to Speaker Therambil Ramakrishnan.

The MLAs who resigned are P Sankaran, M P Gangadharan, M A Chandrasekharan, N D Appachan, Maleth Sarala Devi, Radha Raghavan, T V Chandramohan, Sobhana George and D Sugathan.

The speaker has accepted the resignations with immediate effect.

A decision to this effect was taken by the MLAs on Monday after a meeting with Karunakaran and NCI president K Muraleedharan.

The development poses no threat to the stability of the Ommen Chandy government in the state.

7333: The Latest News on Your Mobile!

© Copyright 2005 PTI. All rights reserved. Republication or redistribution of PTI content, including by framing or similar means, is expressly prohibited without the prior written consent.

Share your comments

 What do you think about the story?

Read what others have to say:

Number of User Comments: 1

Sub: kerala mps resignation

It is just another game of mr K Karunakaran to grab power ..not because he loves people that all the formation of new party, wanted ...

Posted by georgepallikunnath


Article Tools
Email this article
Top emailed links
Print this article
Write us a letter
Discuss this article

Copyright © 2005 India Limited. All Rights Reserved.