The Web


 Latest News on mobile: sms NEWS to 7333

Home > News > PTI

JD-U promises all LJP rebels tickets

July 04, 2005 17:42 IST

The Janata Dal-United will give tickets to all 21 rebel Lok Janshakti Party MLAs in the dissolved Bihar assembly and does not expect any problems within the party on that count.

"We will field all of them in the forthcoming assembly elections," senior JD-U leader Nitish Kumar said on Monday.

The LJP rebels are likely to join the JD-U formally on July 7.

Replying to a question, he said independent MLAs in the dissolved House too have been invited to join the National Democratic Alliance, of which JD-U is a part. "We have made them an open offer to join either the JD-U or BJP," he said.

Nitish said all independents joining the NDA fold will also be renominated.

Asked if this would not lead to problems within the JD-U or, for that matter, the BJP, Nitish said his party had anyway finished third or fourth in these constituencies. "We do not have a claim," he said.

The JD-U leader said the NDA will kickstart its pre-poll campaign for the forthcoming Bihar assembly election by launching a 'Nyay Yatra' (March for Justice) on July 11 in north Bihar.

The 'Nyay Yatra' will focus on the injustice done to the JD (U)-BJP combine when "the state assembly was dissolved despite the combine having the numbers to form a popular government."

Nitish said the first phase of the Yatra will start from Bagaha in West Champaran district and cover Bettiah, Motihari, Muzaffarpur, Sitamarhi, Madhubani and Darbhanga in one week.

He said top leaders of both the JD-U and BJP would join the Yatra at different places.


7333: The Latest News on Your Mobile!

© Copyright 2005 PTI. All rights reserved. Republication or redistribution of PTI content, including by framing or similar means, is expressly prohibited without the prior written consent.

Share your comments

Article Tools
Email this article
Top emailed links
Print this article
Write us a letter
Discuss this article

Copyright © 2005 India Limited. All Rights Reserved.