The Web


 Latest News on mobile: sms NEWS to 7333

Home > News > PTI

Gen JJ Singh takes over as army chief

January 31, 2005 16:02 IST
Last Updated: January 31, 2005 16:11 IST

General JJ SinghGeneral Joginder Jaswant Singh, a hero of anti-terrorist operations, on Monday became the first Sikh officer to don the mantle of chief of the army staff.

A highly-decorated Maratha Light Infantry officer, General J J Singh is the country's 22nd army chief. He accepted the chief's baton at a ceremony from General N C Vij, the coutgoing army chief, in New Delhi.

General Singh has the distinction of being decorated with Param Vishisht Seva Medal, Ati Vishisht Seva Medal and Vishisht Seva Medal.

He has also held senior staff appointments as additional director general in the military operations during the Kargil conflict, commander-in-chief of the Army Training Command and commander-in-chief of the Western Army Command.

He was awarded the Chief of Army Staff's commendation for receiving wounds in a battle against militants in anti-
terrorist operations in J&K as a brigade commander.

'JJ', as he is popularly called in the army, has been the brain behind the evolution of a new doctrine for the Indian Army, which was released recently.

7333: The Latest News on Your Mobile!

More reports from Punjab
Read about: Striking a Discordant Note

© Copyright 2005 PTI. All rights reserved. Republication or redistribution of PTI content, including by framing or similar means, is expressly prohibited without the prior written consent.

Share your comments

 What do you think about the story?

Read what others have to say:

Number of User Comments: 1

Sub: New Army Chief!

It is a wonderful thing to hear that our new army chief "Gen. JJ Singh" is a highly decorated and a very abled and a ...

Posted by Prasidh R


Article Tools
Email this article
Top emailed links
Print this article
Write us a letter
Discuss this article

Related Stories

Malacca limping back to normal

More army men for relief works

Army major gets reprieve from HC

Copyright © 2005 India Limited. All Rights Reserved.