The Web


 Latest News on mobile: sms NEWS to 7333

Home > News > Report

Goa CM set to win confidence vote

Sandesh Prabhudesai in Panaji | February 24, 2005 11:57 IST

Digambar Kamat, the No 2 man in the previous Manohar Parrikar government in Goa, quit his assembly seat on Thursday.

He handed over his resignation to legislature secretary Sudhir Narvekar.

This has cleared the way for Congress leader and Chief Minister Pratapsing Rane to win the confidence vote on February 28.

With Kamat's resignation, the BJP now has 17 members in the assembly, while the ruling Congress-led alliance remains at 18.

As Speaker Vishwas Satarkar belongs to the BJP, the House of 35 needs 18 to have majority.

Governor S C Jamir had installed Rane as CM on February 2, after the Parrikar government was dismissed amidst controversy.

Two alliance partners had withdrawn their support to the BJP-led government. Four BJP legislators had also quit their seats to reduce the saffron strength in the 40-member House.

7333: The Latest News on Your Mobile!

More reports from Goa

Share your comments

 What do you think about the story?

Read what others have to say:

Number of User Comments: 1

Sub: Murder of Democracy in Mera India

It is really a stupid and cowardly act of Goa Governor and Congress party ie. dismissing a Govt.[BJP Govt.] after it won the vote of ...

Posted by Giridharan


Article Tools
Email this article
Top emailed links
Print this article
Write us a letter
Discuss this article

Copyright © 2005 India Limited. All Rights Reserved.