The Web


 Latest News on mobile: sms NEWS to 7333

Home > News > PTI

Rane inducts 6 more in his Cabinet

Sandesh Prabhudesai in Panaji | February 03, 2005 22:37 IST

Goa Chief Minister Pratap Singh Rane inducted six more ministers in his Cabinet on Thursday evening.

Rane was sworn in as the new chief minister on Wednesday night after the 32-month-long Bharatiya Janata Party-led Manohar Parrikar government was dismissed.

The Cabinet includes two ministers from the Parrikar government -- Sudin Dhawalikar (Maharashtrawadi Gomantak Party) and Pandurang Madkaikar (who quit the Congress to contest elections afresh).

Besides Madkaikar, another non-legislator, who was inducted on Thursday, is Isidore Fernandes.

Rane also inducted three senior leaders -- Wilfred de Souza of the Nationalist Congress Party and two Congressmen, Luizinho Faleiro and Dayanand Narvekar.

Faleiro has resigned as the Pradesh Congres Committee president. He will fly to Delhi on Friday to discuss the replacement with the high command.

Rane said he would induct four more ministers soon.

Also read:

Rane is new Goa chief minister

Goa Governor 'deserves to be sacked': Venkaiah

Parrikar govt dismissed in Goa

7333: The Latest News on Your Mobile!

More reports from Goa
© Copyright 2005 PTI. All rights reserved. Republication or redistribution of PTI content, including by framing or similar means, is expressly prohibited without the prior written consent.

Share your comments

Article Tools
Email this article
Top emailed links
Print this article
Write us a letter
Discuss this article

Copyright © 2005 India Limited. All Rights Reserved.