The Web


 Latest News on mobile: sms NEWS to 7333

Home > News > Report

Jharkhand: BJP to form co-ordination committee

August 27, 2005 17:18 IST

In an attempt to placate dissident non-Bharatiya Janata Party ministers in Jharkhand, the BJP has agreed to form a co-ordination committee for better understanding between it and independent legislators.

The Arjun Munda-led Jharkhand government could fall without the support of the independents. The BJP itself is doubtful about how long the government will last, even after arrangements like the co-ordination committee are put in place.

Thus, the decision over setting up a co-ordination committee came at a meeting on Thursday of the party's state unit core committee with BJP general secretary in-charge of Jharkhand Rajnath Singh and Sanjay Joshi, organisation secretary. The Jharkhand chief minister and state BJP unit chief Yadunath Pandey were also present at the meeting.

"We have decided that a co-ordination committee will be formed. Its shape will be decided through discussions (with independent ministers)," Singh said after the meeting, which came hours before the dissidents and party legislators were to meet BJP chief Lal Kishenchand Advani.

The BJP-led National Democratic Alliance government in the state is hinged on the support of five independents who have been made ministers.

Singh and Joshi held separate discussions with Munda, Pandey and 10 legislators, including Pradeep Yadav and Raghuvar Das (both ministers).

Munda, whose style of functioning has come under attack from the independent ministers, said: "I have no objection in formation of the co-ordination committee."

Asked whether a common minimum programme would also be chalked out, he said, "We can discuss it". Singh declined to comment when asked whether the issue of leadership change came up at the meeting.


7333: The Latest News on Your Mobile!

Powered by

Share your comments

Article Tools
Email this article
Top emailed links
Print this article
Write us a letter
Discuss this article

Copyright © 2005 India Limited. All Rights Reserved.