The Web


 Latest News on mobile: sms NEWS to 7333

Home > News > Report

RJD MP Shahabuddin to surrender before August 30

Anand Mohan Sahay in Patna | August 21, 2005 17:37 IST

Rashtriya Janata Dal Member of Parliament Mohammad Shahabuddin announced on Sunday that he would surrender before the court by August 30.

Shahabuddin said he had high regard for the law of the land and would surrender between August 26 to 30, after the current parliament session ended. It may be recalled that Bihar police had been criticised for the delay in arresting Shahabuddn.

Three non-bailable warrants, pending against Shahabuddin for execution, relate to recovery of illegal firearms, ammunition, unaccounted foreign currency, power theft and violation of the Wildlife Act.

Only two days ago, the state administration had issued an order to all district magistrates and superintendents of police to arrest Shahabuddin.

Arrest Shahabuddin anywhere in India: DGP

Bihar Director General of Police A R Sinha said the Election Commssion as well as the Patna high court had asked the government to execute non-bailable warrants of arrest pending against all persons and Shahabuddin was no "exception".

Sinha was criticized by the Bharatiya Janata Party, Janata Dal (United), Communist Party of India (Marxist-Leninist) leaders over the delay in executing the NBWs against Shahabuddin, even two weeks after the EC's directive.

Shahabuddin, however, fired his salvo against chief secretary G S Kang and Sinha by challenging them to arrest over 2,000 criminals who had NBWs pending against them. "If police is serious to execute NBWs, let them make the same effort in all cases," he had said.

More stories from Bihar

7333: The Latest News on Your Mobile!

© Copyright 2005 PTI. All rights reserved. Republication or redistribution of PTI content, including by framing or similar means, is expressly prohibited without the prior written consent.

Share your comments

Article Tools
Email this article
Top emailed links
Print this article
Write us a letter
Discuss this article

Copyright © 2005 India Limited. All Rights Reserved.