The Web


 Latest News on mobile: sms NEWS to 7333

Home > News > Report

Chennai cancer doc wins Magsaysay award

A Correspondent | August 01, 2005 18:58 IST

Dr V Shanta, director of the Adyar Cancer Insitute, Chennai, is the among the winners of this year's Magsaysay Award, the Manila, Philippines-based award foundation announced today.

Shanta has been chosen for her 'untiring leadership of the Cancer Institute as a centre of excellence and compassion for the study and treatment of cancer in India', the foundation said.

Contacted in Chennai, Dr Shanta said, "It's something nice for me and the Institute."

Shanta, an eminent cancer specialist in the country, said the award would give the institute additional benefits and
advantages. "We always said the institute and we are one," she said.

Helping fight the Big C

Asked what she intended to do with the prize money, Shanta said she has not yet given it a thought.

Shanta is the second woman from Chennai to be selected for the international award, the first being renowned Carnatic
vocalist, the late M S Subbulakshmi.

Among other notable Indian winners are super cop Kiran Bedi and social activist Rajendra Singh.

Others who won this year's award are Teten Masduki of Indonesia Corruption Watch; Senator Jon Ungphakorn from Thailand; and Bangladeshi journalist Matiur Rahman.

7333: The Latest News on Your Mobile!

Share your comments

 What do you think about the story?

Read what others have to say:

Number of User Comments: 2

Sub: great news

Great news that Indian Physician was awarded this Prestigious Award. It is the recognition to her services and research. We all should acknowledge Dr. Shanta ...

Posted by Srinivas

Sub: Congratulations Dr.V.Shanta

Its a great news that Dr.V.Shanta, eminent Cancer Specialist won the Magsaysay Award. Scientific community usually don't get that much attention as political and sports ...

Posted by Krishna Yekkala


Article Tools
Email this article
Top emailed links
Print this article
Write us a letter
Discuss this article

Copyright © 2005 India Limited. All Rights Reserved.