The Web


 Latest News on mobile: sms NEWS to 7333

Home > News > PTI

Jharkhand Cabinet expanded

April 20, 2005 00:38 IST

The Arjun Munda-headed National Democratic Alliance Cabinet in Jharkhand was expanded on Tuesday.

Jaleswar Mahto of Janata Dal-United and Satyanand Bhokta of Bharatiya Janata Party were inducted into the cabinet totalling the strength to 12.

Jharkhand Governor Syed Sibtey Razi administered the oath at a simple ceremony at the Raj Bhavan in Ranchi.

Mahto, also president of JD-U's Jharkhand unit, replaced party leader Radha Krishna Kishore, who had resigned following internal bickering in the party.

The Cabinet now has three members from the BJP, excluding the chief minister, two from JD-U, five independents and Kamlesh Singh, who has since merged his state unit of NCP with BJP.

Singh had won the assembly election on a NCP ticket and a protest letter for his disqualification under the anti-defection act is pending with Speaker Inder Singh Namdhari.

Munda, home minister Sudesh Mahto and other members of the Cabinet attended the swearing-in ceremony.

Earlier Reports:

Jharkhand minister resigns

Jharkhand minister refuses to take charge

Jharkhand cabinet expanded

7333: The Latest News on Your Mobile!

© Copyright 2005 PTI. All rights reserved. Republication or redistribution of PTI content, including by framing or similar means, is expressly prohibited without the prior written consent.

Share your comments

Article Tools
Email this article
Top emailed links
Print this article
Write us a letter
Discuss this article

Copyright © 2005 India Limited. All Rights Reserved.