Rediff India Abroad
 Rediff India Abroad Home  |  All the sections


The Web

India Abroad

Sign up today!

Article Tools
Email this article
Top emailed links
Print this article
Contact the editors
Discuss this article

Home > News > Report

RSS welcomes Advani as party chief

Onkar Singh in New Delhi | October 18, 2004 23:07 IST

Rashtriya Swayamsewak Sangh has expressed happinesson the elevation of L K Advani as the president of the Bhartiya Janata Party. The RSS hoped that Advaniwill keep the wishes and aspirations of the people of India and the Sangh Parivar inmind while discharging his duties as the new president of BJP.

Speaking to in New Delhi, RSS spokesperson Ram Madhav denied that Advani has been made president of BJP at the instance of Sangh Parivar.

"We had coordial relations with the party even when Venkaiah Naidu was president and hope that the same would continue under the leadership of Advaniji who understands the Sangh Parivar better than others because of his long association with the RSS. At no stage did the parivar critcised Naidu or wanted that he should be replaced. It was the decision of the party and we in the RSS welcome it," he said.

He agreed with Venkaiah Naidu's suggestion that the time had come that a senior member of the BJP should lead the party as there were enormous challenges before it in the years to come.

"I am confident that Advaniji would keep the wishes and aspirations of the Hindus in mind while formulating polices and programmes of the party and how to lead it to new heights," he added.

RSS sourced denied that it had at any point of time favoured Dr Murali Manohar Joshi to be made the president of the Party after easing out Venkaiah Naidu.

"I had seen the statement of VHP leader Ashok Singhal attacking the BJP leadership and demanding that there should be new leader to lead the party. But those are his views and the RSS has nothing to do with it," the source said.

More reports from Delhi
Read about: Assembly Election 2003 | Attack on Parliament

Share your comments


Copyright 2006 India Limited. All Rights Reserved.