The Web


 Latest News on mobile: sms NEWS to 7333

Home > News > PTI

M S Gill, Tohra elected to Rajya Sabha

March 19, 2004 18:21 IST

Former chief election commissioner and Congress member M S Gill and Shiromani Gurdwara Parbandhak Committee chief Gurcharan Singh Tohra were among five candidates elected to the Rajya Sabha from Punjab on Friday.

The others were Ashwini Kumar and Dharampal Sabharwal (Congress) and Virender Singh Bajwa (Shiromani Akali Dal), returning officer-cum-Vidhan Sabha secretary N S Mavi said in New Delhi.

Earlier, Punjab Congress chief H S Hanspal, who had filed his nomination papers as a covering candidate for Gill, withdrew from the contest.

Kumar and Tohra were re-elected as Congress and SAD candidates, respectively.

The five Rajya Sabha seats from Punjab were falling vacant on April 9 after the retirement of Kumar (Congress), Lala Lajpat Rai (Bharatiya Janata Party), Tohra, Sukhbir Singh Badal and Sukhdev Singh Libra (SAD).

7333: The Latest News on Your Mobile!

More reports from Punjab
Read about: Striking a Discordant Note

© Copyright 2005 PTI. All rights reserved. Republication or redistribution of PTI content, including by framing or similar means, is expressly prohibited without the prior written consent.

Share your comments

Article Tools
Email this article
Top emailed links
Print this article
Write us a letter
Discuss this article

Related Stories

Congress disgracing nation: PM

Congress releases first list

Media mogul J K Jain joins Cong

People Who Read This Also Read

'Sonia Gandhi is adorable'

Of sex and electoral politics

Extended version of Prithvi test

Copyright © 2005 India Limited. All Rights Reserved.