The Web


Home > News > First Look

Attack on Parliament: Tributes to martyrs

December 14, 2004

Parliament on Monday paid glowing tributes to the nine brave security personnel who laid down their lives to protect the apex seat of Indian democracy on the third anniversary of the terrorist attack.

Vice-president Bhairo Singh Sekhawat, Lok Sabha Speaker Somnath Chatterjee, UPA chairperson Sonia Gandhi, former prime minister Atal Bihari Vajpayee were among those who observed a minute's silence as a mark of respect for the deceased.

Nine people were killed and 16 wounded when five militants allegedly affiliated to the Jaish-e-Mohhamad (JeM) carried out a suicide attack on the Parliament three years ago.

Security forces had killed all of them in a 45-minute gun battle. One militant died when the bomb wrapped around his body blasted.

The parliamentarians praised the security forces for their timely action, which averted what could have been a tragedy of vast magnitude.

Photograph: Saab Press

Attack on Parliament: Complete Coverage

Share your comments

 What do you think about the story?

Read what others have to say:

Number of User Comments: 1

Sub: aa

and now we are making 'dosti' with them...chha

Posted by raj


Article Tools Email this article
Print this article
Write us a letter

Copyright © 2005 India Limited. All Rights Reserved.