Rediff India Abroad
 Rediff India Abroad Home  |  All the sections


The Web

India Abroad

Sign up today!

Article Tools
Email this article
Top emailed links
Print this article
Contact the editors
Discuss this article

Home > News > PTI

Mulayam constitutes council of ministers

September 06, 2003 23:28 IST
Last Updated: September 07, 2003 01:50 IST

Uttar Pradesh Chief Minister Mulayam Singh Yadav on Tuesday night constituted his Council of Ministers by inducting six members, two days ahead of the trust vote on the floor of the assembly.

Governor Vishnukant Shastri administered the oath of office and secrecy to Azam Khan, Shiv Pal Singh Yadav, Anuradha Chaudhary, Korab Hamid, Kusum Rai and Rajbeer Singh at a ceremony at Raj Bhavan in Lucknow.

Later, the chief minister said the burden of work had forced him to make the inductions.

"Alone I was not able to cope up with the work pressure and therefore I thought it would be prudent to go for an expansion."

He said he would induct more ministers after proving his majority on the floor of the House on September 8.

More reports from Uttar Pradesh
Read about: Ayodhya Dispute | Madhumita Murder Case

© Copyright 2006 PTI. All rights reserved. Republication or redistribution of PTI content, including by framing or similar means, is expressly prohibited without the prior written consent.
Share your comments

 What do you think about the story?

Read what others have to say:

Number of User Comments: 3

Sub: always corrupted

s . i feel that the constition under mulayum will also corrupt after sometime... ...

Posted by jigar

Sub: Let us hope for good

Congratulation to Honble MulayamSinghji. Let us hope that new era of progress, development, prosperity shall start in the state, which was earlier unfortunately grippled with ...

Posted by daya shukl

Sub: Well done Mulayam

With Mayawati`s dirty politics in U.P. this change was essential. Mulayam should induct clean image MLA`s as Ministers ( subject to availability ). Should concentrate ...

Posted by Ajay Patil



Copyright 2006 India Limited. All Rights Reserved.