The Web


 Latest News on mobile: sms NEWS to 7333

Home > News > PTI

Mahants, sadhus to boycott Kumbh ceremony

July 29, 2003 13:29 IST

Mahants and sadhus who arrived for the Kumbh mela have decided to boycott the 'Dhwajarohan Parva' (flag-hoisting ceremony) at Nashik and Trimbakeshwar to protest against the Centre's move to take over lands of Hindu muths and temples all over the country.

The decision was taken at a meeting held on Monday evening among the officials of the Shaiva akhadas and mahants of the Vaishanav akhadas at Nashik's Laxmi Narayan Temple, according to Mahant Parmananda Saraswati, national president of the Akhil Bhartiya Shambhu Dashnam Juna Akhada.

"Our boycott is a symbolic protest against the central government and if the government does not change its decision, all sadhus and sants from all over the country would take out a morcha to Parliament House," Saraswati said.

As many as 13 akhadas in Nashik and Trimbakeshwar have decided to keep away from the ceremony, to be held on Wednesday, after giving ten days' ultimatum to the Centre to reconsider its decision. Saraswati alleged that the NDA government headed by Prime Minister Atal Bihari Vajpayee had intervened into religious issues.

Mahants Narayandas, Madhavdas, Shivnandandas and city mayor Dashrath Patil were among those who attended the

Complete Coverage of the Kumbh Mela

7333: The Latest News on Your Mobile!

More reports from Maharashtra
Read about: Telgi case | Mumbai blasts

© Copyright 2005 PTI. All rights reserved. Republication or redistribution of PTI content, including by framing or similar means, is expressly prohibited without the prior written consent.

Share your comments

Article Tools
Email this article
Top emailed links
Print this article
Write us a letter
Discuss this article

Related Stories

Kumbh Mela: Sadhus fall prey to bad weather

Authorities get tough on Kumbh photographs

Kumbh Nagari become focus of intense politicking

Special The Kalpavasis have an incredible unshakeable belief in the Kumbh

Copyright © 2005 India Limited. All Rights Reserved.