Rediff India Abroad
 Rediff India Abroad Home  |  All the sections


The Web

India Abroad

Sign up today!

Article Tools
Email this article
Top emailed links
Print this article
Contact the editors
Discuss this article

Home > News > PTI

Polls to three Himachal Pradesh assembly
constituencies postponed to June 8

February 14, 2003 12:23 IST

The Election Commission has decided to postpone elections to three assembly constituencies in Himachal Pradesh -- Kinnaur, Bharmour and the Lahaul and Spiti seat -- to June eight in view of inclement weather conditions in these areas.

According to the poll scheduled earlier announced by the EC, assembly polls in Himachal Pradesh, Meghayala, Nagaland and Tripura are to be held on February 26.

The decision to defer the poll for these three constituencies was taken after taking all material circumstances into account, including the representations received from various political parties and individuals and also the report of the chief electoral officer of the state, the EC said in a press release in Delhi.

More reports from Himachal Pradesh
© Copyright 2006 PTI. All rights reserved. Republication or redistribution of PTI content, including by framing or similar means, is expressly prohibited without the prior written consent.
Share your comments


Copyright 2006 India Limited. All Rights Reserved.