NewsApp (Free)

Read news as it happens
Download NewsApp

Available on  

Rediff News  All News  » Movies » Now, a Jai Santoshi Maa remake

Now, a Jai Santoshi Maa remake

April 06, 2006 17:32 IST

Jai Santoshi MaaThe remake season continues.

Ram Gopal Varma is remaking Sholay, David Dhawan will remake Amar Akbar Anthony, Farhan Akhtar is remaking Don...

Now, it's the turn of the 1975 hit Jai Santoshi Maa to be remade.

Titled Maa Santoshi Maa, the Percept Picture Company has bought the rights from Satram Rohra, the producer of the earlier film.

"We believe there is a huge market for this film. We successfully launched the Sahara One Channel and while researching the audience mood for serials like Kittu Sab Janti Hai, we found out that there was a market for films like Maa Santoshi Maa," says Shailendra Singh, joint managing director, Percept.

More on!

Could Gangster be another Murder?

Shahid, Kareena in a soup!

Looking forward to Fanaa?

The film will mark the Bollywoood debut of actress Vedhika Kumar. She has done leading roles in regional films like Maderasi (Tamil) and Sivakasi (Telugu) earlier. 

Ahmed Siddiqui, who was the chief assistant director in Dilwale Dulhaniya Le Jayenge and Veer Zaara, will direct the film. Anu Malik will compose the music.

But the actress in the leading role has not been decided yet.

Jai Santoshi Maa was one of the biggest hits of its time, grossing about Rs 62 crores (Rs 620 million). It released around the same time as Ramesh Sippy's classic Sholay.

Lesser-known actors like Ashish Kumar, Kanan Kaushal and Anita Guha acted in Jai Santoshi Maa.

The title track Main toh aarti utaraoon re santoshi maa ki, composed by C Arjun, is one of the most popular bhajans to this day.

"Indian people have not changed as far as values are concerned," says Singh. "Even America, which is so advanced, has many religious channels that are doing well," he adds.

"I will attract the younger generation with the film's music," says Anu Malik.

The film is slated to be released during Navratri this year.

Syed Firdaus Ashraf