NewsApp (Free)

Read news as it happens
Download NewsApp

Available on  

Rediff News  All News  » Business » Visa on arrival for nationals of Myanmar, Indonesia

Visa on arrival for nationals of Myanmar, Indonesia

January 25, 2011 14:53 IST
An aeroplaneThe government has decided to extend the visa on arrival scheme to the citizens of Myanmar and Indonesia.

The scheme is allowed for a maximum validity of 30 days with single entry facility by the immigration officers in Delhi, Mumbai, Chennai and Kolkata airports on payment of a fee of $60 or equivalent amount in Indian rupees per passenger, including children.

India first launched the visa on arrival scheme on January 1 last year for citizens of five countries -- Japan, Singapore, Finland, Luxembourg and New Zealand.

Later, the scheme was also extended for the nationals of Cambodia, Laos, Vietnam and Philippines.

The scheme is allowed for a maximum of two times in a calendar year to a foreigner with a minimum gap of two months between each visit.

The visa is non-extendable and non-convertible, an official statement said.

The foreigners of the above mentioned countries may also avail of the visa on arrival scheme for up to 30
days for medical treatment, for casual business or to visit friends and relatives.

The facility is not applicable to the holders of diplomatic or official passports.

Further, such visa will not be granted to the foreigners who have permanent residence or occupation in India.

Such persons can visit India on normal visa, as applicable.

The scheme has been found to be useful by foreign nationals.

Till December last year 6,569 nationals had availed the facility.

© Copyright 2018 PTI. All rights reserved. Republication or redistribution of PTI content, including by framing or similar means, is expressly prohibited without the prior written consent.