The Web


Home > Get Ahead > Living > Lifestyle

Your daily predictions:

Colour power: learn what's your colour

Preeti Vaisaikar | June 10, 2005

Yesterday, we offered you a glimpse of how colours could affect you.

Today, colour therapist Shweta Dubal lists the healing powers of various colours.

Part I: What's your mood colour? 

The idea is to integrate the various colours that relate to each Chakra (the energy centre in the body), either through healing, visualisation, the clothes we wear, crystals, accessories, etc. This will go a long way in bringing about a balance and enhance your productivity.

ColoursChakra 1: Muladhara

The root chakra is located at the base of the spine.

This chakra deals with the human potential, primitive energy, basic survival needs and our foundation.

A significant lack of energy here can make you weak and self-destructive.

The healing colour: Red. Wear it to enhance this aspect of your life.

Chakra 2: Svadhisthana

The second chakra is located just slightly below the navel or belly button.

This chakra is the centre of our sexual drive and emotions.

A deficiency of energy here may cause you to be immobilised by fear, burdened by guilt or distrustful.

The healing colour: Orange.

Chakra 3: Manipura

The third chakra is located at the solar plexus and relates to will, power and social identification.

A lack of energy here may result in depression and confusion.

The healing colour: Yellow.

Chakra 4: Anahata

The fourth chakra is located over the heart and relates to love, balance, compassion and self-expression.

Little energy in this chakra may cause paranoia and indecision.

The healing colour: Green, sometimes pink.

Chakra 5: Vishuddha

The fifth chakra is located at the throat and relates to communication, creativity and self-identification.

A blocked chakra here can cause a person to be devious and manipulative.

The colour here is blue.

Chakra 6: Ajna

The sixth chakra is located between the eyebrows at the third eye position relating to mind, intuition and heightened self-awareness.

Insufficient amounts of energy here can cause you to be oversensitive and afraid of success.

The healing colour: Violet.

Chakra 7: Sahasrara

The seventh, or crown chakra, is located at the top of the head, and deals with the experience of self-realisation, wisdom, understanding and enlightenment.

A deficiency of energy here may cause a person to become catatonic.

The healing colour: White, which signifies enlightenment, and is the culmination of all the other chakras.


Part I: What's your mood colour?

Share your comments

 What do you think about the story?

Read what others have to say:

Number of User Comments: 2

Sub: colours

I think the writer is fan of govinda and his dressing sense.

Posted by ajay

Sub: Power Colour

A person can wear clothes, gems, stones from throat down till the Mulaadhaar chakra as per your article. But what about the Violet colour for ...

Posted by Yeshwant


Article Tools
Email this article
Top emailed links
Print this article
Write us a letter
Discuss this article

Copyright © 2005 India Limited. All Rights Reserved.