The Web


Home > Assembly Elections 2005 > Jharkhand > PTI > Report

Arjun Munda wins vote of confidence

March 15, 2005 12:05 IST
Last Updated: March 15, 2005 18:33 IST

The Arjun Munda government in Jharkhand on Tuesday comfortably won a vote of confidence in the 81-member assembly, bringing the curtains down on a fortnight-long political drama in the state after the elections threw a hung assembly.

The ruling Bharatiya Janata Party-led NDA also got its nominee Indersingh Namdhari elected as speaker in a voice vote.

Later, after a 15-minute break, the new speaker allowed Chief Minister Munda to move his motion of confidence.

But as the opposition United Progressive Alliance members trooped to the well of the House, Namdhari put the motion to vote. After asking those in support of the vote to raise their hands, he declared that the motion of confidence has been carried by 40 votes.

Later, outside the House, he told reporters that the opposition count was 37.

He said besides Nationalist Congress Party member Kamlesh Singh, who is in hospital, two other members Joba Manjhi (United Goans Democratic Party) and Sukhram Oraon (Jharkhand Mukti Morcha) -- were absent during the vote.

Munda was sworn in as CM on Saturday after JMM chief Shibu Soren resigned on Friday.

Earlier, as the House assembled, the opposition insisted that pro-tem Speaker Karia Munda should take up the disqualification proceedings against the NCP member and minister Enos Ekka, who, they claimed, had violated party whips by supporting the government.

Karia Munda made it clear that he could only take up the business of speaker's election and other issues could be taken up later.

Then he put the motion for Namdhari's candidature to a voice vote and declared him elected amidst protest from the opposition.

After winning the trust vote, CM Munda, when asked about ministerial expansion, said, "Very soon... Within 2-3 days".

He denied there was any problem in the NDA on the issue of allotting ministerial portfolios.

Complete Coverage: Assembly Elections 2005

© Copyright 2005 PTI. All rights reserved. Republication or redistribution of PTI content, including by framing or similar means, is expressly prohibited without the prior written consent.

Share your comments

 What do you think about the story?

Read what others have to say:

Number of User Comments: 5

Sub: Arjun Munda wins trust vote

Finally democracy is the winner in Jharkhand. What will happen in Goa now ? How can central leadership of congress save their face now ? ...

Posted by K Kulkarni

Sub: arjun munda wins the vote of confidence

whenever congress party came in power at centre they have abused it. Forget about past , recent examples are goa and jharkhand. Its triely said ...

Posted by rakesh sharma

Sub: Arjun Munda wins trust vote

This is slapping moment to the governor of jharkand who doesn't know the democracy. Congrats mundaji at last you r showned that democracy is still ...

Posted by nanda


provided the report is true and Munda has fairly won the vote of confidence, then the situation proves beyond any shred of doubt that it ...

Posted by SR GANGULI

Sub: re:arjun munda wins vote

sir,how could aspeaker be elected by voice vote when there are two contenders and voting is demanded.this is the true face of bjp.jug

Posted by jugsingh


Article Tools
Email this article
Top emailed links
Print this article
Write us a letter
Discuss this article

Copyright © 2005 India Limited. All Rights Reserved.