The Web


Home > Assembly Elections 2005 > Jharkhand > Report

Jharkhand trust vote on March 14

March 12, 2005 21:31 IST
Last Updated: March 13, 2005 00:09 IST

The Arjun Munda cabinet on Saturday announced that the floor test for the new National Democratic Alliance government in the Jharkhand assembly would be held on March 14.

Munda was sworn in as Jharkhand chief minister after the controversial decision to appoint Jharkhand Mukti Morcha chief Shibu Soren as CM was overturned by the Centre on Friday.

It also recommended the name of senior Bharatiya Janata Party leader Karia Munda as pro-tem speaker.

Munda sworn in as CM | Soren resigns as CM

Governor Syed Sibte Razi had given the Munda government time till March 21 for holding the trust vote.

The trial of strength on March 14 would be preceded by the election of the speaker, who would be nominated a day earlier, Cabinet Secretary Aditya Swaroop said after the meeting chaired by the chief minister.

Munda said he would expand his Cabinet after taking the vote of confidence.

NDA may drop motion on Somnath

"Expansion of the council of ministers will be taken up after the floor trust," Munda told media persons after emerging from his first Cabinet meeting.

Munda said the enquiry instituted by Shibu Soren's United Progressive Alliance government against one of his ministers, Sudesh Mahto, had been dropped.

He said the government would appoint a new advocate general soon.

After taking over the reins, former chief minister Shibu Soren had replaced advocate general A K Sinha with R S Majumdar. Munda, however, said Majumdar would continue till a new man was appointed.

Meanwhile, an official release said U K Sangma was appointed as principal secretary to the chief minister.

Sangma, who held the same post before Shibu Soren took over as chief minister, had gone on leave, the release added.


Complete Coverage: Assembly Elections 2005

Share your comments

Article Tools
Email this article
Top emailed links
Print this article
Write us a letter
Discuss this article

Copyright © 2005 India Limited. All Rights Reserved.