The Web


Home > Assembly Elections 2005 > Bihar > Report

Bihar has been under President's rule 7 times

Anand Mohan Sahay in Patna | March 06, 2005 21:48 IST

Bihar governor Buta Singh has dissolved the state assembly and recommended President's rule in the state.

If the recommendation is accepted then Bihar will come under President's rule for the eighth time

Bihar has had 27 chief ministers. President's rule was clamped during the rule of six CMs - Rabri Devi, Lalu Prasad Yadav, Bhola Prasad Shastri, Kedar Pandey, Jagannath Mishra and Ram Sunder Das.

As per official records at the secretariat of the Bihar Assembly, President's rule was first imposed in Bihar on March 23, 1968. It was imposed again on July 4, 1969, which lasted till February 16, 1970.

The state came under the President's rule again in 1972, 1977, 1980, 1995 [when Yadav was the CM] and again in 1999 [during the rule of Rabri Devi].

The longest period of President's rule in the state was in 1968 when it lasted for 240 days, and the shortest was for seven days in 1995. 

Official sources said President's rule in Bihar had always been declared at midnight.


Complete Coverage: Assembly Elections 2005

Share your comments

 What do you think about the story?

Read what others have to say:

Number of User Comments: 4

Sub: Whether Bihar fate will change???????

Sir, I think its a good decision, but whether it will change the current abnormal situation in Bihar??. Any we have a very good president ...

Posted by Subash

Sub: prez rule is imposed by ourself.

if we are thinking that we have got a coool alternative in imposing prez rule then you are wrong. We have to pay for this ...

Posted by Ravi Anand

Sub: apparently no effect

Apparently president's rule 7 times has had no effect on the state. sigh!

Posted by BD

Sub: President rule in Bihar

Deaer sir, i welcome the decision of the President to impoae President's rule in Bihar. this is the only solution to the uncertainity in the ...

Posted by k k John


Article Tools
Email this article
Top emailed links
Print this article
Write us a letter
Discuss this article

Copyright © 2005 India Limited. All Rights Reserved.