The Web


Home > Assembly Elections 2004 > Maharashtra > Report

The Battle for Maharashtra

Nasik: Three doctors and one seat

September 28, 2004 17:59 IST

Electoral politics looks in fine health in Nasik. With three physicians in the fray, criminalisation of politics is not a line that will work the crowds here.

October 13 will see Bharatiya Janata Party-Shiv Sena alliance's Dr Daulatrao Aher, Congress' Dr Shobha Bachhav and Communist Party of India-Marxist's Dr D L Karad lock horns in a contest that could be a dream come true for Nirvachan Bhavan in New Delhi.

Dr Aher, a Maratha, won the seat in 1985, 1995 and 1999, while BJP's Ganpatrao Kathe won it in 1990.

During his tenure as public health minister, Dr Aher had converted the district hospital here into a super-speciality facility. Aher, a native of Devla taluka, heads the Vasantdada Co-op Sugar factory in the district.

Dr Bachhav, also a Maratha, is a director on the board of the Nasik District Central Co-op Bank. She is a bit of a headache for Dr Aher, for she could eat into his Maratha votes.

For CPM's Dr D L Karad, the presence of Centre for Indian Trade Unions in city's industrial areas -- Satpur, Ambad and Sinnar -- is a great source of strength.

Also in the fray are Sayyad Mushir of the Bahujan Samaj Party, Mahendra Patil of the Lok Janshakti Party, Mohiyoddi Faruqui of the Indian Justice Party and two independents -- Satish Patil and Prakash Pagare.

The victory margin for the saffron combine from just 2,309 votes in 1985 increased to 49,135 in 1995 when Dr
Aher defeated M P Mane of the Congress.
In the last assembly election, he won the seat by a margin of 49,717 votes.

Article Tools
Email this article
Top emailed links
Print this article
Write us a letter
Discuss this article

People Who Read This Also Read

Sena-BJP release manifesto

Case against Lalu

The politics of co-operatives

Share your comments

Copyright © 2004 India Limited. All Rights Reserved.