The Web


Home > Assembly Elections 2004 > Report

AP: TRS retains Siddipet, MIM wrests Asifnagar

Syed Amin Jafri in Hyderabad | October 16, 2004 10:57 IST
Last Updated: October 16, 2004 18:37 IST

The Telangana Rashtra Samiti retained Siddipet seat while the Majlis-e-Ittehaadul Muslimeen (MIM) wrested the Asifnagar seat in the assembly by-polls in Andhra Pradesh.

Minister for Youth Services T Harish Rao defeated his nearest Telugu Desam Party rival and former minister Cheruku Muthyam Reddy by a huge margin of 24,827 votes in Siddipet constituency in Medak district.

Rao is the nephew of TRS founder and Union Minister (without portfolio) K Chandrasekhar Rao. The latter had vacated the seat preferring to retain his Karimnagar Lok Sabha seat, which he had won simultaneously in the elections held in April this year.

MIM nominee Mohammed Moazam Khan defeated his nearest Congress rival D Nagender by a slender margin of 2,110 votes in a triangular contest in Asifnagar constituency in Hyderabad city. Telugu Desam candidate M Arvind Kumar Goud finished third.

Both MIM and TDP had harped on the 'opportunism' of Congress candidate Nagender, who resigned within two months of being elected on a TDP ticket and rejoined the Congress, thereby forcing the by-election. He had represented the seat for two terms (1994 and 1999) as a Congress member.

Also Read:
Congress doing well in by-polls

Article Tools
Email this article
Top emailed links
Print this article
Write us a letter
Discuss this article

People Who Read This Also Read

TDP will sever ties with BJP

AP govt won't renew ban on PWG

Proxy voting a non-starter

Share your comments

Copyright © 2004 India Limited. All Rights Reserved.