The Web


Home > News > Elections 2004 > PTI > Report

Sonia remains CPP chairperson

May 19, 2004 18:44 IST

Congress president Sonia Gandhi will continue as the chairperson of the Congress Parliamentary Party.

Manmohan Singh, the party's nominee for prime ministership, was elected deputy chairperson of CPP at a meeting of party MPs on Wednesday evening in the Central Hall of Parliament.

A similar arrangement had existed when Indira Gandhi was elected CPP chairperson after her defeat in the Rae Bareli Lok Sabha constituency in 1977.

At that time, the leader of the CPP was Y B Chavan.

Article Tools
Email this article
Top emailed links
Print this article
Write us a letter
Discuss this article

Related Stories

Only PM to lose an election?

Hope and despair at Janpath

Upset in India, reactions in US

India Votes 2004

© Copyright 2004 PTI. All rights reserved. Republication or redistribution of PTI content, including by framing or similar means, is expressly prohibited without the prior written consent.

Share your comments

 What do you think about the story?

Read what others have to say:

Number of User Comments: 1

Sub: Sonia's discision not to become PM.

This is a wise discision from Sonia not to become PM.

Posted by Kuladeep Roy Chowdhury


Copyright © 2004 India Limited. All Rights Reserved.