The Web


Home > News > Elections 2004 > PTI > Report

BJP to re-nominate its Delhi MPs

March 05, 2004 16:08 IST

All six sitting Bharatiya Janata Party members of Parliament will be re-nominated, party general secretary Mukhtar Abbas Naqvi said on Friday.

"... this may not be so at the all-India level, where some are likely to be dropped," he said after a meeting of the party's Delhi Pradesh election committee.

Delhi has seven Lok Sabha seats.

In the case of the Sadar constituency, from where Rajasthan Governor Madan Lal Khurana had won in 1999, the party has to look for a new candidate, Naqvi said.

Minister of State for Sports and Youth Affairs Vijay Goel, who was elected from Chandni Chowk in the last elections, is said to be keen on shifting to Sadar.

If Goel is shifted, the frontrunner for the Chandni Chowk seat will be former Delhi Mayor Shanti Desai, party sources said.

Article Tools
Email this article
Top emailed links
Print this article
Write us a letter
Discuss this article

Related Stories

Film star Jitendra joins BJP

Advani to go on yatra

'Advani will be our saviour'

People Who Read This Also Read

Vajpayee to contest from Lucknow

Trinamool, BJP disagree on seats

Sharad Rao joins NCP

India Votes 2004

© Copyright 2004 PTI. All rights reserved. Republication or redistribution of PTI content, including by framing or similar means, is expressly prohibited without the prior written consent.

Share your comments

Copyright © 2004 India Limited. All Rights Reserved.