The Web


Home > News > Elections 2004 > PTI > Report

Cong declares names for 3 Delhi seats

April 10, 2004 18:09 IST

The Congress on Saturday announced its candidates for three Lok Sabha constituencies in Delhi, even as suspense over four other seats continued.

Former Union minister Jagdish Tytler will contest from Delhi Sadar, former Delhi minister Krishna Tirath from Karol Bagh (SC) and lawyer R K Anand from South Delhi, All India Congress Committee general secretary Oscar Fernandes said.

Although Delhi Assembly Speaker Ajay Maken had unofficially been tipped as a nominee for New Delhi, his name did not figure in the list.

The Congress, which had no member from Delhi in the dissolved Lok Sabha, is also unable to finalise a 'consensus' candidate for East Delhi, Outer Delhi and Chandni Chowk.

Article Tools
Email this article
Top emailed links
Print this article
Write us a letter
Discuss this article

People Who Read This Also Read

Miraculous escape for AP bus

India Votes 2004

© Copyright 2004 PTI. All rights reserved. Republication or redistribution of PTI content, including by framing or similar means, is expressly prohibited without the prior written consent.

Share your comments

Copyright © 2004 India Limited. All Rights Reserved.