The Web


Home > Assembly Elections > Report

It's a saffron sweep in MP Newsdesk | December 04, 2003 14:05 IST
Last Updated: December 05, 2003 03:08 IST

It's a saffron wave. The kind even Bharatiya Janata Party's chief ministerial candidate Uma Bharti did not see coming.

In Madhya Pradesh, the BJP won 172 seats in the 230-member legislative assembly.

The ruling Congress, which had 124 seats in the last assembly, won only 39. The Samajwadi Party did quite well for itself bagging seven seats. The Gondwana Gantantra Party (3), Bahujan Samaj Party (2), Nationalist Congress Party (1), Communist Party of India (1) and Independents (2) were the others who registered a mark.

Uma BhartiThe sanyasin, who would be the first woman chief minister of Madhya Pradesh, was mobbed by the media at the Bhopal airport. And in true Uma Bharti style, she declared: "This was the semi-final."

The final will be played in September 2004, when the general elections are due.

Bharti, however, admitted the margin of the party's victory took her by surprise.

It took her rival, Chief Minister Digvijay Singh, by surprise too.

Just two hours into the counting and Diggy Raja, as he is known in the state, had conceded defeat. An hour later he was addressing a press conference.Digvijay Singh

"We had not imagined there would be such a wave in BJP's favour," he said and repeated his vow of not accepting any organisational post for ten years. He said he will also not contest any elections. "I will be just a primary member of the party and work on my pet subject of decentralisation of power...I will also continue to fight against communal forces in the state," he said.

He denied it was the lack of roads and electricity in the state that cost him dear. "It's an anti-incumbency vote. We were in power for 10 years...people this time decided they wanted a change," he said speaking to a television channel.

Uma Bharti said her party's positive campaign with focus on development and governance coupled with the Union government's excellent performance took the BJP to this victory.

Current Results

  Assembly Position
Congress   Others
BJP   Undeclared

Both Digvijay Singh and Uma Bharti won their seats comfortably -- from Raghogarh and Bada Malhera respectively.

Other prominent Congress winners were senior ministers Hazari Lal Raghuvanshi and Sajjan Singh Verma.

Phool Singh Baraiyya, who broke away from the Bahujan Samaj Party to form the Samata Samaj Party, was defeated in Bhander by a BJP nominee.

The Nationalist Congress Party opened its account in the state with party nominee, Hamid Kazi, winning from Burhanpur, defeating his nearest rival, BJP's Kailash Parikh, by 4213 votes.

Article Tools
Email this article
Print this article
Write us a letter

Related Stories

BJP doing well in MP, Rajasthan

People Who Read This Also Read

A royal win for BJP in Rajasthan

BJP wins semis 3-1

PM rules out early LS polls

Share your comments

 What do you think about the story?

Read what others have to say:

Number of User Comments: 4

Sub: Need some work from the new govt

Its BJP or Congress , we need govt to bring more industries in MP and building infrastructure. Congress failed in its oppurtunity.Lets see what BJP ...

Posted by abhijeet

Sub: result is shocking

People have no idea to differentiate between communal and secularism, they are attracted by movie stars only. General public is not well educated...even they dont ...

Posted by Shakeel Dad Khan

Sub: slap on the face of self styled secularist

with People of 3 states voting BJP to power ,the so called secularist like nafisa ali and company should accept that people of india dont ...

Posted by anobserver

Sub: MP elections

It's Mr Arun Jaitley's modesty when he is telling that credit goes to Ms Uma B. In fact,with Mr Arun's excellent communications and logical approach ...



Copyright © 2003 India Limited. All Rights Reserved.