NewsApp (Free)

Read news as it happens
Download NewsApp

Available on  

Rediff News  All News  » Cricket » White named Australia's T20 captain

White named Australia's T20 captain

January 07, 2011 10:25 IST

All-rounder Cameron White was on Friday appointed captain of Australia's Twenty20 squad after Michael Clarke quit the post and the format in the aftermath of the team's Ashes defeat to England.

- Ashes 2010 coverage

"Cameron White has been named as captain of a 12-man squad for the KFC Twenty20 International series against England, with Tim Paine as his vice," Cricket Australia said in a statement.

The 27-year-old White has played 23 T20s for Australia, averaging a little over 36 for 513 runs in the format.

Australia will play the first Twenty20 against England on January 12 at the Adelaide Oval with the second game in the series taking place at the Melbourne Cricket Ground on January 14.

New entrants in the 12-member squad include batsman Aaron Finch and pacer James Pattinson.

Camroon White"The NSP is taking the opportunity to look at some of our exciting young talent in this form of the game.

"Aaron Finch has been in outstanding form for Victoria and the National Selection Panel (NSP) looks forward to watching him play at the highest level in this form of the game," NSP chairman Andrew Hilditch said.

"James Pattinson is one of a crop of young fast bowlers with great potential and he impressed with his stint with the Australian side in India. We're sure he's ready for the challenge of international cricket," he added.

The out-of-form Clarke quit Twenty20 to focus on his Test and ODI career after Australia lost the Ashes 1-3.

Hilditch supported Clarke's decision and said the struggling batsman should not be criticised too much for one bad series.

"Michael did an outstanding job as leader of our Twenty20 team and took us to the final of the ICC Twenty20 World Cup," Hilditch said.

The squad also sees the return of injury-plagued pace duo of Brett Lee and Shaun Tait.

"Both at their best are explosive bowlers and should add greatly to the team," Hilditch said.

Squad: Cameron White (Captain), Tim Paine, Aaron Finch, David Hussey, Mitchell Johnson, Brett Lee, Stephen O'Keefe, James Pattinson, Steve Smith, Shaun Tait, David Warner, Shane Watson.

© Copyright 2018 PTI. All rights reserved. Republication or redistribution of PTI content, including by framing or similar means, is expressly prohibited without the prior written consent.